How Long Do I Have to Report an Oklahoma City Car Accident?

How Long Do I Have to Report an Oklahoma City Car Accident?One of the most important steps you can take after a car accident is reporting the accident to your insurance company. While you may be shaken up and feeling overwhelmed, your insurance company likely has a timeline that they expect each of their policyholders to abide by. If you are physically able to do so, you should reach out to them as soon as possible to inform them about the accident.

Is it a requirement to report a car accident to your insurance company in Oklahoma?

You may be hesitant to report your car accident to your insurance company. This may be because you are worried that your premiums will increase, or you are in no hurry to relive the trauma of the accident. However, when you agreed to your insurance policy, you most likely stated that you would notify them about any accidents you are involved in within a certain period. Insurance companies are usually the ones that enforce this requirement, which ensures that they know about the accident you are involved in. This is so they can begin determining who is at fault and seeking compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. If you do not report your car accident, you may receive harsh penalties or even a claim denial.

What information will I need to give to the insurance company?

If possible, call your insurance company within 24 hours after the car accident. You can keep this conversation brief, but they will most likely have several questions you may need to answer. They need information about the accident to begin investigating. Some of the information you may need to provide includes:

  • Your name, address, phone number, policy number
  • The other driver’s name, address, phone number, insurance company, policy number
  • The make, model, and year of the vehicles
  • Where your vehicle is currently and how much damage it sustained
  • The drivers’ license numbers
  • Where and when the accident occurred
  • Whether a police report was filed, and which law enforcement agency responded to the crash
  • Whether you have any photos or videos of the accident
  • Whether there are any witnesses

If you do not know the answers to these questions or do not want to provide the information to your insurance company, refer your insurance company to your attorney. It is highly recommended that you keep this call brief and speak to an attorney beforehand; claims investigators are trained in eliciting information that can hurt your claim. If you hire an Oklahoma City car accident lawyer, they will handle all forms of communication with your insurance company and ensure that you never accidentally give too much information that could be used against you.

Do you have to call the police after an accident in Oklahoma?

According to Oklahoma §47-40-102, you must call the police and file a police report if you or anyone else involved is injured, died, or there is property damage of $500 or more. However, even if you believe that your accident is minor and worth less than $500 in damage, you should still call the police. It can take days, weeks, even months to know how severe your injuries are from a crash. Make sure that you have a police report you can use as evidence throughout the legal process.

After you dial 9-1-1 and inform the operator of the accident, the responding officers will arrive at the scene of your accident quickly. They will likely ask you questions to get a better understanding of what happened, who was involved, and whether anyone was hurt. While asking you questions, they will likely be creating a police report.

How to get a police report for an accident in Oklahoma City

If you need a police report for an accident that occurred in Oklahoma City, you will need to fill out this form and a signed affidavit; submit both online, and pay the $4 handling fee. You should receive the police report by mail within a few days. However, you may need to wait several days after the accident as it can take a few days for the officer to complete and submit the police report.

Is Oklahoma a no-fault state?

Oklahoma is not a no-fault state. If you are involved in an accident that was someone else’s fault, you can hold the at-fault person liable for your injuries, property damage, and other losses caused by the accident.

If you recently suffered injuries in a car accident in Oklahoma City and need legal assistance, contact the car accident attorneys from Cunningham & Mears as soon as possible. Our team can help you obtain the compensation you need for your injuries. Call our office or submit our contact form to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation today.